Privately Connected With Your Friends Facebook Hoax

By phesto on

Did you or someone you know post a notice on Facebook so that you will stay “privately connected” with your friends? You may want to retract that post!

The notice in question reads as follows:

Hello, my FB friends: I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. I post shots of my family that I don’t want strangers to have access to!!! However, with the recent changes in FB, the “public” can now see activities in ANY wall. This happens when our friend hits “like” or “comment” ~ automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we can not change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” and also “PHOTOS”. By doing this, my activity among my friends and family will no longer become public. Now, copy and paste this on your wall. Once I see this posted on your page I will do the same. Thanks!

If your friends go through the steps above, what this actually does is hide you from their newsfeed. If you uncheck “Comments & Likes” for example, your friends will no longer see your comments and likes. It does not affect how the public sees you or your posts. Conversely, if you follow the steps above for a friend, you’ll see less of them in your newsfeed.

It is a hoax.

These steps do nothing to affect a person’s public posts, and will only disconnect you and your friends. In other words, you have just told all of your friends on Facebook to see less of you without affecting public posts. Certainly in some cases you may want to see less of some Facebook friends, but that’s not what this hoax is implying.

If you only want your friends – and only friends – to see your posts on Facebook, go into your Privacy Settings, and be sure to that it is set to “Friends” for who can see your posts. You can also “limit past posts” in this area as well. This is the only way to ensure that you and your friend stay privately connected.

If you see someone posting this hoax, drop a link to this article in the comments to set them straight! And follow niftyeyeblog on facebook for all of the latest hoaxes, rumors, reviews, and more.

Source

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>